Smith camed Co-Defensive Newcomer Of The Year

With every District 6-4A team officially eliminated from playoff contention, district coaches released their list of Superlative and All-District honorees for the 2017 season.

Canton, second-place finishers in district and bi-district qualifiers, finished the year with one player earning Superlative recognition and multiple players earning spots on the All-District First and All-District Second Teams.

District 6-4A Superlative honors included:

-MVP: Brandon Smith, Wills Point

-Offensive Player of the Year: Vernon Morrow, Wills Point

-Defensive Player of the Year: Dentalus Jones, Dallas Lincoln

-Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Devin Jacks, Rains

-Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Cooper Smith, Canton; Jaden Huff, Wills Point; and TJ Gunel, Dallas Lincoln

-Coach of the Year: Greg Cranfill, Wills Point

First Team All-District honorees included:

-Canton: McGwire Martin, quarterback and punter; Jair Rodriguez, kicker; Austin Yarber, offensive tackle; Jeramiah Bradway, offensive guard; Monkey Guerrero; Garrett Wycough; Jeremy Lambert; Grant Tullos, inside linebacker; Cade Shaw, outside linebacker; Chandler Bass, safety; and Carter Day, utility

-Dallas Lincoln: Dewayland Jones, running back and safety; Ashton Baker, tight end; Kiontay Coleman, wide receiver; Charles Harris, defensive tackle; Cordale Simpson, cornerback; and Domanek Wilkerson, utility

-Dallas Roosevelt: Terranzo Sutton, running back; Jeremiah Moore, wide receiver; and Victor Parker, utility

-Emory Rains: Jamal Pryor, cornerback; and Dylan Mosely, utility

To read the full article, subscribe to the Canton Herald or pick up a copy from one of our vendors.