Eagles dominate District 13-4A Superlatives

The Canton Eagles were the cream of the crop in District 13-4A this season, following up a perfect 10-0 run in 2017 with another clean sweep of Brownsboro, Emory Rains, Mabank, Van and Wills Point in 2018.

Not surprisingly competing coaches recognized Canton's dominance with multiple Superlative and All-District selections.

Superlative recognitions included:

-MVP: Johnnie Krawietz, Canton

-Pitcher of the Year: Simon Miller, Canton

-Offensive MVP: Seth Wilson, Wills Point

-Defensive MVP: Cade Shaw, Canton

-Newcomer of the Year: Manny Moore, Van

-Coach of the Year: Brandon Luce, Canton

First Team All-District honorees included:

-Brownsboro: Jonathan Surlet, outfield

-Canton: Colby Johnson, shortstop; Blayne Clower, outfield

-Emory Rains: Tucker Peacock, outfield

-Mabank: Dalton Penix, catcher; Grant McManus, utility

-Van: Hoss Brewer, pitcher; Casey Morrow, pitcher; Austin Hulsey, first base; Chase Richardson, outfield

-Wills Point: Chase Daniell, second base; Jayton Oldacre, third base; Sam Berberich, outfield

Second Team All-District honorees included:

-Brownsboro: Gage Wehrman, shorstop

-Canton: McGwire Martin, catcher; John Adams, first base; Tyler Massey, second base; Cameron Sullivan, outfield

-Emory Rains: Judd McCall, pitcher; Jared Byrd, utility

-Mabank: Alynn Gentry, outfield

-Van: Nathan Jay, outfield

-Wills Point: Josh Brogdon, pitcher; Aaron Hardman, third base; Derek Wimberley, outfield

Honorable Mention All District honrees included:

-Brownsboro: Braydon Ballard         

-Canton: Dane Herrin

-Emory Rains: Clay Conway, Kobey Roberts

-Mabank: Drake Hurley, Kyle Schellinger, Ty Brown

-Van: Ry Woodard                

-Wills Point: Dylan Hoover, Josh Karr