Shaw named Co-Defensive Newcomer of the Year

With every District 7-4A team officially eliminated from playoff contention, district coaches released their list of Superlative and All-District honorees for the 2018 season.

Not surprisingly Rusk, which started the season 0-6 before roaring their way through District 7-4A play with a perfect 4-0 record dominated Superlative selections by winning at least a share of all seven honors presented.

Superlative winners included:

-MVP: Jermaine Lewis, Rusk

-Offensive Player of the Year: Jaylon Hall, Rusk

-Defensive Player of the Year: Byron Johnson, Rusk

-Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Jermey Johnson, Rusk

-Co-Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Kale Shaw, Canton; Joseph McGown, Rusk

-Special Teams Player of the Year: Semaj Johnson, Rusk

-Coach of the Year: Jowell Hancock, Rusk

First Team All-District

-Brownsboro: Cole Williams, RB; Devin McGill, TE; Wyatt Green, OT; Gage Wehmann, utility player; Jorge Vicente, K

-Bullard: Harrison Hopson, FB; Dakotah Walsworth, OG and DE; Braeden O’Bannon, C; Nic Hooley, WR; Damion Brown, utility player; Whitney Parks, OLB; Riley Long, CB; Bryce Jewell, S

-Canton: Cooper Smith, WR and S; McGwire Martin, utility player and P

-Rusk: Byron Johnson, RB; Nick Acker, OT; Garrett Blalock, OG and NG; Zayden Devereaux, C; Jayden Rushing, WR; Bryce Driver, utility player; Jahiem Upshaw, DT; Colt Kinney, ILB; Caleb McNair, OLB; Semaj Johnson, CB; Sean Rogers, S; Connor Ellis, P

-Wills Point: Demontre Hill, QB; Isaiah Brown, OG; Jaquez Thompson, WR; Josh Davis, utility player; Savion Kellum, DT; Jaden Huff, DE; Aaron Hardman, ILB; Dylan Autry, CB

Second Team All-District

-Brownsboro: Dakota Harmon, FB and DE; Bobby Posey, OG and DT; Alonzo Welch, NG; Austin Loosier, DE; Gavyn Young, ILB; Hayden Estridge, OLB; Devin McGill, P

-Bullard: Landry Lasseter, QB; Reece Ricketts, RB; Jaxson Elliott, WR; Tanner Fowler, DT; Brett Hammons, DT; Harrison Hopson, ILB; Nic Hooley, CB; Caden Key, S

-Canton: Chris Cade, RB; Drew Nunn, OG

-Rusk: Tyrell Morrison, RB; Rylan Reynolds, OT; Jadon Turner, OG; Connor Ellis, WR and S; Jaden Rushing, OLB; Tevin Taylor, CB

-Wills Point: Stephon Bradley, RB; Josh Etheridge, FB; Cameron Penney, TE; Matt Marshall, OT; Juan Martinez, C; Markethian Lyons, NG; Klayton Spencer, OLB

Canton players earning Honorable Mention All-District honors includes Todd Hale (OT), Caden Saffel (OT), Will Brock (C), Garrett Wycough (DT), Brandon Melton (DE), Tyler Bryant (OLB), Justice Collier (CB), and Caleb Phillips (S).